With its first award conferred back in 1966, a Bridgewater State Alumni Award is considered the highest honor bestowed upon an alumna/us by the University. Each award recognizes alumni who have enhanced the reputation of Bridgewater State by making significant contributions to their community, state and nation through professional service, public service and/or civic activities. 

Bridgwater Alumni Awards are the most prestigious awards presented through the Bridgewater Alumni Association and the Afro-American Alumni Association. Each year nominations are solicited from all alumni and members of the University community to find those who should be recognized for their outstanding achievements. 
An alumni selection committee, comprised of alums with diverse backgrounds and unique perspectives, reviews the materials submitted for both the Bridgewater Alumni and the Afro-American Alumni Associations and selects those persons whose accomplishments most closely fit the criteria for each award and who are deemed most deserving of recognition. The names of those selected are then recommended to Bridgewater State University Leadership for final review and approval.

A call for nominations is sent each spring with all submissions due no later than July 1. Each award is listed below with the current year's recipient. The universal nomination form can be completed and submitted by anyone, and we encourage you to make multiple nominations.


2020 Bridgewater State Alumni Award Recipients

Dr. Marilyn White Barry Award

Dr. Melissa Ianetta, ’95, G’98


Dr. Catherine Comeau Award

Barbara Stevens, ’76


Paul Gaines Sr. Achievement Award

David K. Wilson, ’71


Alfred Gomes Community Service Award

Carla B. Monteiro, ’17


Henry Hampton Bridge Builder Award

Dajuan Frasier, ’20


Martha D. Jones Award

Dr. Jenny Shanahan


Sarah A. Lewis Distinguished Award

Ann M. Ulett, ’92


Dr. Adrian Rondileau Award

Dr. Gloria Moran, G’69


Nicholas P. Tillinghast Award

Dr. Kris Jaeger-Helton, ’84


Dr. Adrian Tinsley Award

Timothy Hassett-Salley, G’83, G’86


Dr. George A. Weygand Award

Wayne Lombardi, ’92